VRBO VIEQUES LUXURY VILLA REVIEWS

0 Reviews Of Martineau Belle Playa
5/5
PERFECTION

Rene was a wonderful host. He was very attentive, responsive, and above all, helpful with any question or needs that we had. His property manager was extremely kind and friendly when we arrived – meeting us at the ferry to escort us to the house. And what a house! Beautifully situated and elegantly decorated, we felt like we were walking into paradise. Amazing views, beautiful pool and beach, soft breezes, wild horses… paradise indeed. We are already looking at dates to go back!

Owner’s Response:

Thank you very very much Vanessa.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Saludos,

Rene

Date Stayed:
Nov 2018
Date Submitted:
Nov 28, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Fantastic Villa Stay

Beautiful villa, everything well maintained. The owner Rene is very responsive and checked in on us throughout our stay. Highly recommend staying here if visiting Vieques; everything is easily accessible by rental car.

Date Stayed:
Oct 2018
Date Submitted:
Nov 15, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Better than ever!

What a beautiful property! As soon as you open the front door you are welcomed with the wonderful view of the sea and a feeling of open space. It’s like entering a magical place. The villa has been recently renovated and all the appliances are new. The decoration is very zen letting in the beauty of the surroundings. The swimming pool water has a new method of cleaning that used no harsh chemicals and leaves your skin soft. Even after the hurricane Maria the many different beaches of Vieques are spectacular and many restaurants are open for business. I enjoyed the stay very much and recommend Martineau Belle Plage for couples, family or wedding receptions!

Date Stayed:
Aug 2018
Date Submitted:
Sep 26, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Our favorite vacation spot 💖

This is the most beautiful house in Vieques. We just got back from our second stay at this amazing place. It is in perfect condition, you cannot tell a major hurricane hit this place only a year ago. It has been renovated and it is as beautiful as before. Everything looks new and super clean. The pool was great and all the rooms have a great view of the beach. You will feel at home and will not want to leave!! Thanks to the owner René and the manager Héctor. We are already planning to go back!

Date Stayed:
Sep 2018
Date Submitted:
Sep 26, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Fantastic Property, Excellent Customer Service!

We stayed during Labor Day weekend. The owner Rene was a pleasure to speak with, very informative about the property and reachable at all times before our stay when we had questions. He also reached out to us after our stay to see how everything had been. His property manager Hector along with his daughter Shammara, assisted us in prepping the property prior to arrival per our requests and welcomed us as soon as we landed in Vieques. Hector provided us with information on nearby restaurants, bars and activities as well. He went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. The house had plenty of space for my family and our friends who came with us and the property housekeeper who we selected to come in every day kept everything clean and in perfect order throughout the weekend. Overall a great stay in a beautiful luxury property. We will certainly stay there again. Thanks!

Date Stayed:
Aug 2018
Date Submitted:
Sep 25, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Perfect Birthday Weekend at Martineau Belle Playa

Martineau Belle Playa was excellent. The amenities were all new, in perfect condition, and top of the line. The kitchen/dining/living room area is spacious and open, ideal for large groups. The pool is great and the semi-private beach behind the house is an amazing asset. All in all, a wonderful experience from small and large groups alike.

Owner’s Response:

Thanks.

Date Stayed:
Aug 2018
Date Submitted:
Sep 5, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Highly recommended!!!

Wonderful house! Great experience. The private beach is amazing. We enjoyed every single day of our family vacation. Kids loved the pool. Rene and the staff will provide everything you need!!! We’ll be back for sure!!! Thanks!!!

Owner’s Response:

Gracias Luis.

Fue un placer tenerte como huésped en Martineau Belle Playa.

Saludos,

Rene

Date Stayed:
Aug 2018
Date Submitted:
Aug 16, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
espectacular todo

de verdad que la experiencia en esa casa fue espectacular , no tienes ni que salir de ella todo es un detalle , todo en perfecto estado

Date Stayed:
Jul 2018
Date Submitted:
Jul 16, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Amazingly stunning home

This home was absolutely amazing! My wife and four children (ages 8 to 14) had the best time enjoying the private beach just steps away from the house. We were the only souls on this beach during our entire stay. The beach was excellent for snorkeling and sea shell hunting. When the kids were finished on the beach they would play in the pool for hours. The home was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The beds are super clean and cozy. Every bedroom is a master suite with a view of the ocean. This home is perfect for a family or a group of friends. We wish we had stayed there for the entire week instead of hopping around the main island of Puerto Rico. Rene Acosta, the homeowner, is very easy to contact and responds in a very timely manner. Rene checked in with us a few days before our arrival and also during our stay to check if we needed anything or if there was anything he could do to make our stay even better. When we come back to Vieques we will definitely call Rene to rent this property again and again. This house and property is a perfect 10!

Owner’s Response:

Landy,

Thank you very much for this review.

It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest at Martineau Belle Playa and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Rene

Date Stayed:
Jul 2018
Date Submitted:
Aug 1, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Luxury vacations at a wonderful place

This is our third time staying at this house. We absolutely recommend this to anyone. We always liked so much. We noticed they did some renovations that make the luxury villa more beautiful. Pool have a new water system with no clorox. You can be all day long at the water. The private beach in front of the house is perfect. Good for snorkeling and swim. All 3 bedrooms are outstanding. This is the one of the most beautiful places in Puerto Rico. We definitely love to come back next year.

Owner’s Response:

Joel,

Thank you very much for this review.

It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest at Martineau Belle Playa and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Rene

Date Stayed:
Jul 2018
Date Submitted:
Aug 1, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
A piece of heaven on earth !!

Rene congratulation on this beautiful piece of heaven on earth . It was a great 3 days of relaxation , sun , beautiful beaches , great bbq and great time with family and friends . I can only says thanks !!! We will come back here for sure !!

Owner’s Response:

Gustavo/Julian,

Thank you very much for this review.

It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest at Martineau Belle Playa and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Rene

Date Stayed:
Jul 2018
Date Submitted:
Aug 1, 2018
Rating Score:
5
5/5
The perfect, private, luxury oceanfront getaway!

This beach house is the perfect way to escape the city and relax in luxury. The pictures are completely accurate. The house is literally steps away from a private beach. The bedrooms are spacious and complete with their own bathrooms. We had everything we needed, we only wish we could have stayed longer.

Rene was attentive and available by phone and text, and he was extremely accommodating with any questions we had. I can not wait for the chance to come back!

Owner’s Response:

Thank you Pamela.

Regards,

Rene

 

Date Stayed:
May 2017
Date Submitted:
July 23, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Relaxing Oasis

We had an amazing time at Martineau Belle Playa. Everything that we needed was right there at the property. With kids it is great to have access to a beach and to a pool within the same locale. The villa is beautiful, is well maintained, and both the owner Rene and the property manager Hector made us feel right at home. There was nothing better than having a cup of coffee while getting the nice breeze outside and listening to the ocean waves. Everything in Vieques is relatively near by if you have a car and so we would go to one of the bakeries to get some nice bread and pastries to have with the coffee. With recommendations on daily times from Hector, we also got fresh lobster from the pescadería near the ferry and prepared it at the villa for an amazing dinner. We went out to check some of the other beaches, scuba dive, and eat but we really enjoyed being at the villa most of the time. Having the W hotel nearby is also excellent and was very convenient as we enjoyed great cocktails and lunch there after checking out of the villa. We definitely want to return to this amazing property!

Date Stayed:
July 2017
Date Submitted:
Jul 21, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Untapped Paradise

We decided to travel to Puerto Rico and we found a beautiful slice of paradise along the way. Travelling with 6 kids isn’t easy, but sometimes in life you have to get out and experience things. Belle Playa lived up to all of our expectations, Rene and Hector were very helpful and after travelling by ferry (which we was cheap but made for a long day) we were glad to make it to such a beautiful home. Hector gave us some pure insider info on where to go, what to eat etc. We rented a car from Mauritzas and we were able to travel to all the nice beaches down in Esperanza. We even enjoyed a nice Saturday evening mass in town. We enjoyed all the great food and local flavor and we hope to get back again someday. I was hesitant on writing such a great review because I don’t want Rene to raise the prices!

Anyway this was one of the best family trips ever! Just some words of advice, if you can swing it, fly in and out, rent a car and head to the supermercado descuentas for your supplies. We absolutely loved everything about the home and the island and it was still untapped and natural which always enables one to still live life simply, surrounded by pure natural beauty!

Date Stayed:
March 2017
Date Submitted:
Apr 18, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Perfect Family Spring Break!

Just got back to the continental US last night from our amazing stay on Vieques. This house hit the mark for two families traveling together, 3 kids all together, (11 yo boy, 10 yo boy, 7 yo girl) and two couples. The house is open an airy, the rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are delightful. We LOVED the benefits of the privacy of our own house but the proximity to all the amenities at the W Resort when we needed them. The house decor feels like it strikes just the right balance between beach chic and chill.

The house had virtually everything we needed, and owner Rene worked with us to have some grocery provisions already stocked at the house when we arrived. The property was delightful with a gorgeous beach as pictured, and we all loved the snorkeling right out from the house! (Spotted Eagle Rays and hundreds of tropical fish abound.) We hired “Chef Waldo” to come cook paella for our crew one night, and it was a fantastic meal that we all loved.

Vieques itself is a delightful, low-key island. We loved driving Jeeps around (the roads are rough…rent a JEEP) and seeing the wild horses, exploring lots of different beaches, and enjoying the relaxing vibe everywhere we went. It’s not fancy on Vieques, but you will feel like you escaped the crazy pace of the real world.

Take some bug spray with you–the “no see-ums” can be bad at times, but a DEET spray will really repel them well. Otherwise, pack your bathing suits, and take some good water shoes since some of the beaches are very rocky but worth walking out to see the reefs that abound everywhere.

We will definitely be back!! It was an unforgettable week in a quiet island paradise at this house!

Owner’s Response:

Hello Katherine,

I just received your review.

Thanks for your kind words. I am very happy all had a great time and you enjoyed Martineau Belle Playa.

See you next time!

Rene

 

Date Stayed:
April 2017
Date Submitted:
Apr 15, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Nothing short of perfect!

Our vacation and experience at the Martineau Belle Playa villa was nothing short of perfect. From the moment we arrived, Hector was there to greet us and give us a tour of the house and grounds. The house was spotless and inviting; everything you want on a vacation. We shared the property with another family and the space was perfect. The grounds were immaculate, the pool was beautiful and the ocean and beach were breathtaking. We took morning walks on the beach and naps outside on the veranda. Both Hector and Rene were helpful with any questions we had during our stay and answered us immediately. Since the villa is on the W Compound, it made it easy to rent a car, walk to the bar, restaurant, and spa. The villa has a surround sound stereo with speakers inside and outside of the house which we loved. Our vacation was restful and relaxing (even with 4 kids under 2.5). If we could give it more than 5 stars, we would. We will most definitely be back!

Date Stayed:
January 2017
Date Submitted:
Mar 1, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
The villa is stunning, can jump to pool and beach

The experience at the Villa was exceptional! Rene was very helpful, kind and provided all the information needed to enjoy the villa and island. Rooms, kitchen, living and dinning areas are spacious and beautifully equipped. Every room is ocean front, so it was the perfect picture to remember the amazing stay! We will be back, thanks so much for the hospitality!

Date Stayed:
February 2017
Date Submitted:
Feb 28, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Our best family vacation ever

My experience from start to finish was terrific. Rene is quick to respond and very accommodating. The manager, Hector, is professional and so helpful. The house is as it is represented in the description, but better.

The bedrooms are large and well appointed. The bathrooms are deluxe and luxurious. The living/dining/kitchen area has plenty of seating and places for everyone to eat. The patio off of the upstairs master is tremendous.The house has towels, chairs and other beach amenities to make your stay comfortable.

I read about security issues in a few other reviews. I experienced nothing of the sort and felt very comfortable day and night. Of course, we used common sense and followed the guidelines of security that anyone can read with the slightest bit of research about travel.

For sure, you need to rent a nice jeep and venture off the main roads to explore the island. Our favorite restaurant is Coqui Fire. Check the hours, you’ll want to go more than once! We used Colon Vieques Horse Riding tours and had an amazing time.

I will be back to Vieques. If I am with a group of any kind, we will contact Rene for a stay at Martineau Belle Playa.. Maybe someday he’ll sell me the house!

Date Stayed:
November 2016
Date Submitted:
Jan 18, 2017
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Will be back again for sure

Excellent location, great view and great service.

Date Stayed:
August 2016
Date Submitted:
Oct 10, 2016
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Best island weekend escape ever!!!

Went with my husband and two other couples to celebrate our birthdays and it was PERFECT!!! Great location, security, accommodations, amenities and tranquility! The house is very well maintained and clean.

All rooms are like master rooms with private bathrooms so everyone feels perfectly comfortable… The beach and the pool were above expectations. Once you are there you don’t need to go anywhere else!!! We just had the most amazing weekend and we look forward to go back!!

Date Stayed:
October 2016
Date Submitted:
Oct 10, 2016
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Paradise in Vieques

Martineau Belle Playa is the most beautiful place in Vieques. Inside the W Resort and spa grounds, this private property has all you need to spend the most amazing days. The property is in excellent shape, the grounds and the house spotless. You can see the beach as soon as you walk towards the house thru the kitchen window. Once inside the house you can also see the beach from all rooms. It is spacious, the kitchen well equipped and we loved the marble floors and high ceilings. The pool/gazebo area next to the private beach is the perfect setting for a family bbq, you won’t want to leave!

We rented the house for 5 nights and celebrated our wedding there, with the beach as our background, overlooking Culebra Island. Our photographer had the best of times taking pictures of paradise!

It was a hassle free experience from the moment we contacted the owner to the moment we left the house. The owner and the managers made sure all our needs were met and they are very accessible. We felt at home during our stay and will definitely be back to this amazing place.

René (owner) and Héctor (manager) thanks for all the attentions!

Date Stayed:
June 2016
Date Submitted:
Jul 19, 2016
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Excellent

The property was amazing. When we arrived everything we could have wanted was provided. The house is beautiful, very clean and in great shape. The pool was clean as was the private beach. Inside the home we had television, stereo with surround speakers throughout the house as well as outside. Iphone/iPod connectivity as well. Towels, beach towels and the like we also provided for us. I would highly recommend this Villa and will definitely be back.

Date Stayed:
February 2016
Date Submitted:
Mar 22, 2016
Rating Score:
5
5/5
AMAZING!

Couldn’t be happier with our stay at Martineau Belle Playa! The property is clean, spacious, comfortable and was equipped with all the amenities we needed. The house and grounds are beautiful and it was the perfect setting for our beach wedding! The owner and the staff were incredibly helpful throughout the entire rental process and were prompt to respond and follow up for any requests we had. We had a blast and highly recommend this property! Thanks Rene and crew! We’ll definitely be back!

Date Stayed:
December 2015
Date Submitted:
Jan 5, 2016
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Luxurious beachfront hideaway - excellent location

I really enjoyed my stay at this clean, well maintained property. It felt like we had a private beach all to ourselves, and the pool area was great too. We were close enough to walk to the W Hotel for drinks, and we also loved going out to eat at El Blok, El Quenepo and Bili. The highlight of the trip was night kayaking at the Bio Bay. I highly recommend this house and would love to come back!

Date Stayed:
August 2015
Date Submitted:
Aug 13, 2015
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Perfect vacation !

The house is spectacular, the views are amazing and the staff was incredible! We had the perfect relaxing vacation in paradise ! The owner and the staff made sure that all our needs/request were granted . To complete our experience we hire a private Chef for some days .Having a meal cook on site and serve outdoors with the beautiful surroundings was fantastic! Will go back !

Date Stayed:
June 2015
Date Submitted:
Aug 6, 2015
Rating Score:
5
4/5
Heavenly House on the beach

The house is spacious and spotless. The grounds and pool are gorgeous as well. Everything was provided for us and had a wonderfully warm welcome. It was the perfect location for the second leg of our trip to Puerto Rico and we absolutely loved the island of Vieques.

Date Stayed:
July 2015
Date Submitted:
Aug 6, 2015
Rating Score:
4
5/5
Perfect anniversary vacation !

The house is spectacular , the views are amazing , the private beach is great and the staff was fantastic ! The owner and the staff made sure that all our request and needs were granted .We also hired a private chef to complete our perfect anniversary vacation . Will go back again !

Mayra & Jordan

Date Stayed:
June 2015
Date Submitted:
Jun 28, 2015
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Paradise

Martineau Belle Playa is situated on the sweetest spot in Vieques. It is a beach front property with breathtaking views of the Atlantic. It has a pool and is just a short walk to the W. My family of 7 walked to the W Hotel every morning. We did some serious chilling on the beach and then washed off the sand in the outdoor shower and enjoyed more relaxation by the pool. Everywhere is a short ride from this house – it takes about 15 minutes to drive to any place you would want to visit on the island. Equipped with a fully stocked kitchen, propane BBQ grill, and a laundry room (detergent was included), you really never need to leave. There were beach chairs in the shed for use at the beach. The property was clean and the cleaning lady, Cynthia, was so very sweet! The owner, Rene, was available and answered questions within a few minutes. The house Manager (Hector) was responsive, as well. Great customer service. I would recommend Martineau Belle Playa to friends and relatives. My family consists of 2 adults and 5 children (ages 3-15), before we arrived, someone set up a small bed in one of the bedrooms for our youngest child at no additional charge, which was a thoughtful gesture, as we expected our children would share beds. The house could use a refresh – there are a few cracked tiles, smudges on doors, door latch that was difficult to operate, outdoor furniture is starting to show wear, but you will barely notice these things, as you will be outside for most of the trip. I loved waking up to the sound of waves crashing onto the shore and view of a turquoise ocean. In the evenings, the sounds of tropical breezes rustling through palm trees and coquis croaking lulled me to sleep. I feel so lucky that I was able to experience Martineau Belle Playa.

Date Stayed:
March 2015
Date Submitted:
Mar 24, 2015
Rating Score:
5
4/5
Amazing Place

Wonderful place, ideal to rest and relax…

Date Stayed:
February 2015
Date Submitted:
Mar 13, 2015
Rating Score:
4
5/5
perfect in every way

Great location, private road located on the W hotel property The house has all the amenities you could. Imagine. Located on a small private beach. We had our daughters wedding here and it was the perfect place. Can”t wait to go back.

Date Stayed:
November 2014
Date Submitted:
Feb 8, 2015
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Wonderful winter getaway

Martineau Belle Playa was a perfect location for our annual family winter getaway. It is located in beautiful Vieques, conveniently located in the gated community within the W Hotel and Spa. It is only a few minutes away from the local airport.

The home is beautifully furnished with all the amenities you could want. The location is spectacular: beautiful home, overlooking beautiful pool and bar area, overlooking beautiful private beach.

Sun, relaxation and fun are your only options.

The owner and his team made the process of booking, transfer and stay as easy as can be and they couldn’t have been nicer. We look forward to coming back.

Well done Rene.

Date Stayed:
December 2014
Date Submitted:
Jan 7, 2015
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Excelente! Vale la pena 100%

El sitio es muy seguro, la casa es muy cómoda, la vista es excepcional, la atención muy hospitalaria, lo recomiendo como algo muy diferenciado dentro de la oferta de hospedaje privado en PR.

Very safe, comfortable, wonderful view, excellent service. One of the best places to stay and enjoy with your family in PR.

Date Stayed:
October 2014
Date Submitted:
Oct 20, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Outstandingly beautiful and comfortable property

My husband and I wanted a weekend with our girls (17 and 26) and spent a fabulous time in this house. As you open the front door you are welcomed by a very extensive living area followed by the pool with the gorgeous ocean as the background. The kitchen is fun and we spend good times grilling away in the pool’s gazebo. The beach has thin white sand and clear blue water and the temperature in the pool is always just right. All in all it was one of the best quality weekends we have spent and cannot wait to return with friends.

Date Stayed:
September 2014
Date Submitted:
Sep 16, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Beautiful house we can't wait to come back!

First, very easy to make the reservation with Rene. Don’t be nervous about dealing with an individual and not a ‘hotel’, there were no problems!

The house was gorgeous! First, we arrived on a Tuesday and the house is very easy to find next to the W hotel and close to the airport but not too close where you hear airplane noise. The view from the living room and balconies were amazing. My 3 children loved the private pool and semi-private beach. Every time we went to the beach we were the only ones there! The beach is nice and we swam out in the water several times and had a great time finding shells and sea glass on the beach. All amenities in the house are as described by Rene. We NEVER go to the same place twice and we can’t wait to go back to Vieques and stay here again!! Also, we encountered no problems on the island and never did not feel safe.

Date Stayed:
June 2014
Date Submitted:
Aug 26, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Exceptional beauty and tranquility!

Our family was looking for sun and rest after a tough and brutal winter. Martineau Belle Playa on the island of Vieques far exceeded our expectations on both counts. This property is well planned and spacious, allowing us to enjoy the stunning ocean views from every room. It’s is meticulously maintained by the manager who is very welcoming and quick to respond to requests. Overall, this was a wonderful experience. We were sad to leave and vow to return again!

Date Stayed:
April 2014
Date Submitted:
Jun 7, 2014
Rating Score:
5
4/5
wish we could have stayed longer

extremely nice, well maintained home. fabulous pool. nice private beach. easy walk to the amenities of the W hotel. vieques is a beautiful island worth exploring. gorgeous beaches and great restaurants on the south side of the island. property manager was very friendly, thorough and easily accessible. the wild horses in the backyard from time to time were a nice treat. we also enjoyed a great catamaran experience with Captain Ron. Next Course restaurant is an absolute must.

Date Stayed:
March 2014
Date Submitted:
May 5, 2014
Rating Score:
4
5/5
the house is beautiful, well maintained, location!

The house is beautiful and the location is fantastic, very clean, all new and well maintained. whenever we needed something there was a nice property manager responding immediately and performing to 100% satisfaction. we stayed 12 fantastic days, enjoyed every minute. in the evening semi wild horse roam the yard with their young, the beach is clean, and safe a great place!! being next to the W offers extra support and amenities.

would love to come back!

Date Stayed:
April 2014
Date Submitted:
Apr 24, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Remarkable vacation home!

We’ve rented many high-end vacation homes, but none quite as uniquely spectacular as Martineau Belle Playa. This place is simply drop-dead gorgeous. From the moment you walk into the house, you realize how special this vacation is going to be. This luxury home has incredible ocean views from every room and the most amazing feature — an incredibly private beach within 60 seconds of your property. I remember thinking to myself, this must be how DiCaprio takes vacations. Absolutely stunning. The pictures do not do this place justice. In fact, it’s much more private and secluded than the pictures lead you to believe. If you can book this place, I wouldn’t hesitate. Will make for a special vacation.

Owner’s Response:

Thank you Hemang for this great review.

Rene

 

Date Stayed:
January 2014
Date Submitted:
Feb 17, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Wonderful Girls' Getaway!

We rented this house for a group of seven women in our mid-30s. We are all busy professionals from New York and Boston and were looking for a relaxing and comfortable vacation property. We found just that at this house. We loved the pool and direct beach access, the proximity to the W Hotel and that the property was clean, updated and secure. Hector and Joanna were very responsive and helpful when needed. Rene also helped us book a private chef for a special dinner at the house and she was lovely (thank you Bev).

We also loved exploring the island, especially the beautiful beaches (our favorite was Sun Bay). We had wonderful meals at Next Course and El Quenepo, and enjoyed post-beach lunch and drinks at Duffy’s and some of the other spots in Esperanza.

We hope to return to this beautiful island soon and would absolutely book this great house again!

Date Stayed:
January 2014
Date Submitted:
Feb 6, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Luxury in paradise!

We spent a wonderful week at Martineau Belle Playa, 6 of us. Rene, the owner, made the reservation process seamless and answered my many questions promptly. Joanna and Hector were always available to handle our needs before and during our stay (we had them get us some basic groceries so we had breakfast makings for our first morning). The house is beautifully maintained and includes several maid visits and A/C in all the rooms. The location on a private beach with a pool and with access to all W amenities couldn’t be better. Five minutes from the airport, five minutes from the largest grocery store and the Avis rental, no more than 25 minutes from any beach on the island (rent a car for sure!). The house was stocked with everything and when we couldn’t find a can opener Hector promptly went to the store and bought one for the house. Beach towels aplenty. For sure go to the farmers market on Tuesday at 8am for the best produce (it’s touch and go at the supermarket) and try our two favorite restaurants, Next Course (10 minute drive) and El Quenepo (15 minute drive). And the biobay tour in the clear boats is not to be missed (Vieques Adventure Company). We loved the wild horses all over the island, even grazing on our lawn and drinking from our pool while we relaxed. What a beautiful scene! Enjoy this slice of paradise.

Owner’s Response:

Thank you very much for this nice review Helene.

See you next time!

Rene, Hector and Joeanna

 

Date Stayed:
December 2013
Date Submitted:
Jan 9, 2014
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Simply Fantastic

Booked this Gorgeous home for my Best friend’s 50th. The pics don’t do this home justice. You will not go wrong with this one. Be prepared to be amazed. Truly exceptional location and property itself is 5 stars. This one is a no brainer and def a repeat for my family!!! Fantastic!

Owner’s Response:

Thanks Jason!

 

Date Stayed:
October 2013
Date Submitted:
Oct 24, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Perfect location and beautiful property

This home was stunning and a pleasure to stay in. The house is located steps from a beautiful secluded beach. Wild horses came to drink from the pool every day. It was wonderful to have the outside barbeque/bar near the pool. The bathrooms are large and beautifully adorned with rock. Fantastic property!

Date Stayed:
October 2013
Date Submitted:
Oct 22, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Vacation Like a Rockstar

Property is impressive. The photos do not do it justice. The main area is very open and comfortable. The house has a great music system so you can leave your ipod speakers at home. Grill and bar area were perfect. Everything you need to make your stay comfortable from linens, kitchen utensils to beach chairs were provided. Caretaker was very informative and helpful. I like to always try new places but this is a house I will definitely want to return to. 5 stars!!!!!

Date Stayed:
September 2013
Date Submitted:
Sep 17, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Fa bulous Vacation

We had an incredible time – the house is beautiful, well equipped and the view is absolutely spectacular – planning to return next year! next time we want to spend more days and enjoy the amenities of the house –

Owner’s Response:

Thank you!

Rene Acosta

 

Date Stayed:
August 2013
Date Submitted:
Sep 12, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Martineau Belle Playa

We decided to splurge a little for our vacation this year and we are glad we did! We were blown away by the breathtaking views from the back patio. There was always a beautiful breeze off the ocean and we spent much of our vacation just relaxing, listening to the ocean and watching the wild horses enjoy the beach and the pool water. The bedrooms in the villa are amazing! Extremely comfortable beds, open showers and large tubs made us feel like we were at a spa. The property manager was great. We only had one request during the week and within minutes of our call, the issue was taken care of promptly. Vieques is an amazing island where you can truly disconnect and relax. A must see is the Bio Bay! Our kids loved it. Great places to eat all over the island – our favorites Tradewinds, Belly Buttons and Duffy’s! A true caribbean paradise!

Owner’s Response:

Thank ypou very much!

Rene Acosta

 

Date Stayed:
August 2013
Date Submitted:
Sep 3, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Location, Location, Location and more

My family just came back from staying a long week-end at Martineau Belle Playa. We shared the house with another 2 couples. We had an unforgettable vacation at this property. The house offers all the amenities that you could ask for plus an outstanding location. You are 30-40 feet away from a private beach plus you can walk to the W hotel. Instead of visiting some of the great restaurants that have been opened in Vieques, you have the option of staying in the private home and cooking a great meal for your party. The kitchen is well equipped and the BBQ area is a great spot to relax while you grill your favorite meats.

I suggest renting a car and visiting some of the other great beaches that used to be in Navy property and are now available to the general public. If you are a sportsperson and enjoys a good adventure, you have access to rent mountain bicycles at the W sports shop and hit some trails.

Thanks to Rene and his staff for making their palace available to us. We can’t wait to go back.

Sobrino Family from Keller, TX

Owner’s Response:

gracias Eduardo!!!

 

Date Stayed:
August 2013
Date Submitted:
Sep 3, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
The most extraordinary Paradise

Wow!!! What a house!!! What an amazing view!!! The beach was beautiful and extremely relaxing. It is the perfect place for a romantic vacation but also to enjoy with the whole family.

It is conveniently located at W Hotel. The property was very pretty and well-maintained.

We are willing to return again this year!!!

Owner’s Response:

gracias nelsito

 

Date Stayed:
July 2013
Date Submitted:
Aug 10, 2013
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Best Honeymoon!

My husband and I originally booked our wedding ceremony and honeymoon at the W, but I was having doubts about the customer service so I searched vacation rentals. I had never rented someone’s vacation home and was very weary but I was running out of time and had to move quick! The first time I spoke with Rene I felt completely confident that we were making the right choice. I was so stressed out with planning an entire wedding through pictures and email as I had never visited Vieques before. I wanted to move the ceremony to the house as well but we had already it down a very large non-refundable deposit for the event at the W.

If you have never the gone to Vieques, pay for the extra flight and don’t take the ferry! We ate up 6 hours of our day between the ride and waiting for the boat to come. When we arrived the house manager, Hector, picked us up and brought us to the house. Can I just say you will never meet a nicer guy! When we got to the house, he helped us unload our bags and showed us all the light switches and other gadgets in the house. The villa is breathtaking. It is immaculate in every way! The beds are comfy, the kitchen is fully stocked with pots and pans to cook and the walk-in closets and in suite bathrooms are incredible. Basically, it is a dream home. We shared the beach with a couple other houses on the street but we were always alone and never ran into anyone else. Also, the hotel amenities are included! It was a very short walk to the W so we could eat instead of cook or check out the snorkeling at the other beaches. The housekeeper came by mid morning every other day, which was perfect because we were usually at the beach or in the pool. She was really sweet too and kept everything really clean.

The whole house has surround sound which was great to throw on my iPod and listen to music at the pool. We had very little rain even though it was hurricane season, but we did get a discount for booking in October! I had my coffee on the back porch every morning watching wild horses graze just a couple yards away! It really was the best vacation I have ever had and I highly recommend the villa!

Date Stayed:
October 2012
Date Submitted:
Dec 19, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Excellent!!

What an outstanding property! The house is gorgeous, every single room is superb! The pictures don’t say the whole story, the place is simply indescribable. Hector greeted us upon arrival and was super accommodating. The owner, Rene, was also extremely accommodating.

I would recommend this place to anyone who really wants the perfect paradise. Being a very demanding traveler you can count on this advise…you will agree with my review! Thanks Rene and Hector, we will be back!!

Date Stayed:
November 2012
Date Submitted:
Nov 20, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
WOW WOW WOW

We booked a last minute trip to Vieques since we live on a neighboring island, and much to our dismay the villa we rented was horrible, but THANKFULLY when I called the owner of Martineau Belle Playa whose number I had in my phone still he said swing by and take a look and the maid will be right over. With 10 minutes notice!

This is the ONLY villa you want to stay at on Vieques. I don’t think the photos do it proper justice on how spectaular this villa is, with outdoor bar, 5 steps to your own private SANDY beach. We watched 8 horses one morning drinking from the pool and playing on the beach. Vieques is also experiencing some increase in petty crime so with this villa being on the W compound behind a security gate and with a guard patrolling on foot at night it made us feel safe as well.

We drove around the entire island and we saw many of the other villas we had seen online that promote themselves as “premier” “exclusive” etc but what they don’t show you is the neighborhood around the villa.

I can promise you that this villa will blow your mind on how nice it is and when you are spending all of this money on a vacation it is worth the extra few bucks to stay in a nice location at a place that is comfortable and relaxing. This villa will make your vacation amazing, you won’t want to leave the house. In fact one day we never left and we just hung out on our own beach and pool. I can’t say enough about how great the maid was showing up within 10 minutes with absolutely no notice and the villa owner being so accomodating. This villa literally saved our vacation! I can’t thank them enough!

Date Stayed:
September 2012
Date Submitted:
Sep 26, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Wonderful Home!

My family and I took our first trip to Vieques this June for a stay at Martineau. Upon entering the property we were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the home and the view! The home has a wonderful, inviting layout inside and out and sitting out back was extremely relaxing and peaceful.

We were traveling with two young children so the added security of a gated community gave us great peace of mind. Also, when we were able to get out, having the W right next store is a major plus.

All around, this was a great home and a great value.

Owner’s Response:

Thank you Michael.

Regards,

Rene

 

Date Stayed:
June 2012
Date Submitted:
Jul 24, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Spectacular stay

The villa is the best located , access to the semi private beach is superb. maintenance is impeccable. Being within the W provides options for scuba diving, snorkeling and exquisite cuisine. The island beaches are spectacular, I will definitely visit Vieques every year and will stay in this great villa!!

Owner’s Response:

Karla/Daneris:

Thank you very much.

Hope to have you back sometime soon!

Rene Acosta

Owner

 

Date Stayed:
May 2012
Date Submitted:
Jun 27, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Martineau Belle Playa

The Island of Vieques is full of fantastic beaches, yet when you stay at this chic, elegant and at the same time cousy villa you wonder if it worth going out. We recommend that you do both, explore the island and finalize your day in your villa with a breathtaking ocean view doing your own cooking in a fully equiped modern kitchen. You can also stay at your villa enjoying its great private beach or its gorgeous swimming pool, or visit the W hotel that its only a few blocks away.

The rooms have a great layout and the open showers are simply put very sexy.

The property is extremely well maintained and the employees who take care of its cleanliness are very cordial and at the time private.

We highly recommend this property. We will be back!

Date Stayed:
May 2012
Date Submitted:
May 30, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Martineau Belle Playa

First of all let me say that is by far one of the beautiful houses on Vieques!

It is located very close to the airport, grocery store and gas station. It was my first time on the island but after talking to Rene I knew I made the right choice. Everything was just as he said….spacious, great pool, the beach is literally a 10 step walk from the pool! The house is very clean and up to date. Upon arrival I was greeted by Hector (a Vieques native) he told about all of the best food and beaches for my kids to go to. I would strongly recommend staying at this house!

Not to mention the beautiful wild horses that come and drink out of the pool and eat the grass…it was truly amazing and I can’t wait to return.

Thanks again Rene and Staff,

Jovan

Owner’s Response:

thank you Jovan!

 

Date Stayed:
February 2012
Date Submitted:
Mar 29, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Perfection!!

Truly an amazing place. Pictures are spot on except for the view, the ocean out front is beautiful. We had a great time. Martineau Belle Playa has it all! We will be back

Owner’s Response:

Thank you!

 

Date Stayed:
March 2012
Date Submitted:
Mar 22, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Luxurious private property on natural island

I had a sensational time on my trip to Vieques. It is probably the nicest and most relaxing weekend retreat I’ll have in a long time. The privacy and luxury of this stunning location is hard to compare.Even though we went beach hopping and sight seeing around the island on a rented jeep; we could have actually stayed at the property all day and still would have had a fantastic time. This is a sensational and sexy getaway. I will be looking forward to returning and without a doubt will recommend the property to my acquaintances. Have fun, discover the natural beauty and get ready to relax.

Date Stayed:
November 2011
Date Submitted:
Feb 15, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Top place in PR

This house have all the amenities you need. Right in the W Hotel, top luxury and comfortable rooms and areas. N

Close from everywhere, right by the beach with a beautiful ocean front view. For me it just amazing.

Everything was clean and in perfect conditions. The service from the owner also was good.

In my opinion could be one of the top places in PR for vacations.

Date Stayed:
January 2012
Date Submitted:
Feb 14, 2012
Rating Score:
5
4/5
Amazing villa

This villa is absolutely fantastic, steps from the beach and great pool. It is very large, with always a breeze under the covered back deck. Quite rough for swimming, great for teenagers and adults. Wild horses actually come to the pool for a drink. Definitely rent a four wheel drive vehicle, the island is small and lots of offroading. Well appointed rooms, and walking distance to the W hotel.

Owner’s Response:

Thank you very much Donna!

Rene

 

Date Stayed:
January 2012
Date Submitted:
Feb 7, 2012
Rating Score:
4
5/5
Absolutely Stunning!

Staying at Martineau Belle Playa made this island paradise even sweeter! This stunning villa is perfect for family or smaller group getaways. The ocean is literally steps from the pool, and its location on the island is ideal. The interior design of the house and the grounds are straight out of a magazine. Everything was spotless clean inside and outside and the kitchen can easily accommodate a large group as well. Last but definitely not least, the house managers were very polite and easily accessible if we needed anything. We would definitely stay here again!

Date Stayed:
November 2011
Date Submitted:
Jan 10, 2012
Rating Score:
5
5/5
My trip to paradise!

My friends and I had an absolutely fantastic time. The home is spectacular! It truly is a luxury home. The interior designer did a great job with all of the details. The home was clean, and it was nice of the property manager to turn on the air conditioners in anticipation of my arrival. Speaking of the property manager, I really liked the fact that he met me at the airport. He gave me a tour of the town and showed me where the restaurants and markets were located. He also recommended a great car rental company. This allowed me to have a stress free vacation. The only sad part of my trip was when it was time to go. We had such a relaxing time that we did not want to leave. I will definitely be back. Thanks for everything Rene.

Owner’s Response:

Gracias Lucas.

Un placer tenerte de guest.

Un abrazo,

Rene

 

Date Stayed:
September 2011
Date Submitted:
Oct 11, 2011
Rating Score:
5
5/5
My brother's 30th birthday party

We rented this house so we could celebrate my brother’s 30th birthday. He rented the house next door, and we just wanted to be next to them, never expecting that we were renting a house so amazing. Between the pool, the private beach, the bedrooms, the balcony on the master bedroom, the kitchen and the living area we never knew which part of the house we were most enchanted with, they were all breathtaking!!!!!!

We actually spend more time at our house than at my brother’s rented house in which the birthday party was supposed to take place.

The couple that takes care of the house will make sure that everything was in order, and if you needed anything that the house didn’t have they went out of their way to get it for you.

Overall it was an amazing experience and we can’t wait to go back…

Owner’s Response:

Gracias Mayte!

 

Date Stayed:
June 2011
Date Submitted:
Aug 17, 2011
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Super Property in a Magical Setting

This place rocks! It is located in the grounds of the newly opened W Hotel in Vieques and the house is both elegant and relaxed. Rooms are very big and tastefully decorated. But the heart of this house is its view, pool and beachfront location in the magical island of Vieques, PR. This place is great for a family, a friends’ gathering or a romantic getaway for 3 couples. The owner Rene, is also super nice and quite accommodating.

Owner’s Response:

Thanks for this review. Hope to see you soon…and bring your dogs!

 

Date Stayed:
June 2011
Date Submitted:
Jun 24, 2011
Rating Score:
5
5/5
Amazing house in an amazing place!

We rented the house as the location for our beach wedding in June 2011. My fiance and I stayed there along with both sets of our parents. The ceremony was on the lovely private beach, and the reception on the patio. I WISH we could have stayed here for a few extra days and taken advantage of it more. The only issue we had (a broken toilet in the common area) was fixed quickly. The rooms are gorgeous, and the bedrooms, bathrooms, and living area are all clean, spacious, and well-appointed. The outdoor space was perfect for relaxing as well as entertaining. We’d love to come back and have a real vacation here, not just a wedding!

Date Stayed:
June 2011
Date Submitted:
Jun 24, 2011
Rating Score:
5

Submit Your Review For Martineau Belle Playa

What name should be displayed with your review?
What title should be displayed with your review?

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search